New candidates for jailer, magistrate, city council come forward

Last updated: January 30. 2014 12:41PM - 565 Views
By - ostapleton@newsdemocratleader.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The filing deadline for candidates came and went on Tuesday with a few more putting their names in the hat for the upcoming election season in Logan County.

Chris Hightower filed his paperwork to run for Logan County Jailer. As a Republican, he will face Phil Gregory in May for that party’s nomination.

Current jailer Bill Jenkins announced in November that he would not be seeking reelection. And soon after the time for candidates to file their paperwork began on Nov. 6, Democrat Wendell Jackson and Gregory filed their papers to try and become Jenkins’ successor. Later a third candidate filed - Democrat Edward W. Hardin. Hardin and Jackson will face off in the Democrat primary in May. The two winners from those races will face off in the November general election.

Two more filed this week to run for magistrate in District 3, making that a very crowded field.

Democrats Roger Dale Knight and Chris Wilcutt both put their names in before the filing deadline. That makes a total of six running for the seat. And as they are all Democrats, they will face no opposition on the November ballot and the May primary will decide the winner. The others already registered in that race include William Sanford, Bobby G. Moore, Gary Sears and incumbent Barry Joe Wright.

The Russellville city council also got some competition this week as three men filed to run for that race.

Before this week, only the six sitting council members - Jimmy Davenport, Sandra Kinser, Pat Bell, Darlene Gooch, Bill Decker and Jack Whipple - had registered for that race. But they will now see competition from Albert Head, Joe Laird and Larry Wilcutt. All nine names will appear together on the ballot and the top six votegetters will make up the next Russellville city council.

Russellville mayor Mark Stratton will also be running for reelection, but will be unopposed as no one filed to run against him this time.

Jeff Harris filed this week to run for county surveyor. He was the first and only person to put his name in for that race and will be unopposed on the ballot.

Other county incumbents who have filed and will be unopposed are PVA Ben Brown, Judge Executive Logan Chick, County Attorney Joe Ross and County Clerk Scottie Harper.

State Representative Martha Jane King and Circuit Judge Tyler Gill are also seeking reelection without any opposition.

There will be three people running for District Judge since Sue Carol Browning is not going to try for another term. Elkton attorney Jason Petrie and Assistant Logan County Attorney Ken Williams had both filed early on and were joined this week by another Elkton resident, Nancy E. Calloway.

There will be a general election for the District 4 magistrate race as Republican Mathew T. Latham of Lewisburg filed his paperwork to run last week.

Previously, three Democrats had filed for that seat - Dale Givens, Mike Kirby and incumbent Drexel Johnson. They will face each other in a May primary and then the winner will face Latham in the November general election.

All the magistrate districts have contested races, with several having more than two candidates.

In District 1, Len Embry and incumbent Russell Poore will face off in the May Democratic primary. The winner of that will face Republican Dickie Carter in the November general election.

In District 5, Republican Jo Orange will be facing off with Auburn businessman Phillip Joe Bilyeu, a Democrat. With only the two of them registered, they will meet in the November general election.

The other magistrate races will be decided in the May primary election as everyone is registered as a Democrat.

The other two races will see District 2 magistrate Jack Crossley being challenged by Wayne Stratton and District 6 magistrate Thomas Bouldin being challenged by Clay Bilyeu.

Four years ago when Logan County coroner Mary Givens ran for reelection, she faced no opposition, but this year she has two challengers - Cheryl Allen and Tina Hudson McKinney.

All three are registered as Democrats and that office will be decided in the May primary.

Both Steve Hadden and Robert Kimmel filed their paperwork to run for sheriff at the end of December. They will be running against incumbent Wallace Whittaker in the May primary as all three are registered as Democrats. No Republicans have filed for office and the May primary will decide the next sheriff for Logan County.

Others filing to run this week were Republican Steven Rogers for constable in District 5 and Democrat Randy Berry for constable in District 3. The only others to file for constable races previously were Butch Inman, Sr. in District 4 and John Monroe in District 2. No one filed to run for the job of constable in District 1.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Russellville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com