Last updated: July 03. 2014 11:38AM - 291 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Pennyrile Electric held its 77th annual meeting, July 1, 2014, at the Western Kentucky Fairgrounds. Each member that attended the meeting was greeted by a Pennyrile Electric employee and was given several energy efficient items as they entered the meeting room. Free soft drinks and popcorn were available while bluegrass gospel musical guest, “The RidgeRunners” entertained the large crowd. At 5:30 p.m., Duane Moore, Chairman of the Board of Directors, called the meeting to order and welcomed the crowd of over 1,300 people. The colors were posted by local Boy Scout Troop 13, and Brother Greg Giltner gave the invocation, with Carrie McGinnis singing the National Anthem.

Pennyrile Electric’s President / CEO, Eston Glover Jr., presided during the remainder of the meeting and made introductions of the guests.

Lee Harton, Attorney for the Cooperative, reported that a quorum was present as required by the Pennyrile RECC Bylaws. The minutes of the previous annual meeting were approved, and Mr. Harton read the official Notice of Meeting and Proof of Publication.

Bill Corum, President of the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives, was introduced and spoke about Kentucky electric cooperatives in the 21st Century.

Ernie Peterson, TVA General Manager Kentucky District, gave a brief update of TVA and discussed the concerns surrounding the proposed sale of TVA.

Mr. Glover gave an update on Pennyrile Electric and spoke about the challenges the electric industry is facing. He pointed out that Pennyrile Electric was recognized this year with the Governor’s Safety & Health Award for working over 250,000 hours without a lost time accident. Glover says, “Safety is our first priority at Pennyrile, and we each have taken a pledge to make sure that everyone goes home every night. By taking that pledge, we promise each other to make sure that they and I use the safety guidelines accepted and approved by our Board of Directors.” Glover also mentioned this would be his last Annual Meeting as President/CEO, since his announcement to retire in January. “I want to thank you for allowing me to be your employee, and President/CEO for the last 14 years. This has been the greatest opportunity any North Christian kid could have ever hoped for.”

Brent Gilkey, VP / Member Services, recognized the fourteen recipients of Pennyrile Electric’s Scholarship program. Each recipient will receive a $1,000.00 scholarship for the fall semester. The recipients are: Kristen Swiader, William Crawford and Shania Robidoux of the Cumberland District; Zolbayar Enkhtugs, McKenzie Johnson, Lauren Epperson, Amy Nightingale and Wendy Paul of the Western District; Matthew Fultz, Rachel Blake and Samuel Culton of the Central District; and Ethan Mullen, Shelby Baldwin & Sarah Can Zee of the Eastern District.

The six high school juniors that represented Pennyrile Electric on the 2014 Washington Youth Tour were recognized for their commitment to academics and their communities. The students representing Pennyrile Electric this year are Elijah “Eli” Radford, Hannah Major, Madison Chaney, Alexis “Lexie” Pendleton, Noah Kaiser and Jackson Wells.

Results of the Board of Directors election were announced, with James L. Futrell, Duane E. Moore, and Bryson Price being re-elected for three-year terms.

Following the adjournment of the meeting, drawings for 11 door prizes were held. The winners of the three major prizes were:

1. 42” LED TV – Joe Hildabrand (Russellville)

2. iPad - Ronald Ewer (Hopkinsville)

3. Bose Sound Dock – Rutha Jarrard (Fairview)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Russellville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com