Auburn joins Lewisburg in empty council seats

By Chris Cooper -

Two cities in Logan County will not run a full slate for council come election time in November, unless there are write-ins at the last minute.

The City of Lewisburg only had two candidates file to run for the next term. They are current members Jason Rolley and Teddy Harper. Harper was appointed during the current term to replace resigning member Jason Bradley, who moved out of city. Lewisburg has historically struggled to draw six people to run for council, however, this election is at an all-time low. Current members who did not file to run again are Steve Nichols, Mike Kirby, Kathy Stewart and Jason Harper.

This is the first election in a very long time, perhaps decades where the City of Auburn did not have six to run on the ballot. The up and coming election, Auburn is two shy. Those who have filed to run for Auburn City Council are current members Steve Montgomery, Rex Evans, Bobby Price and Claude Tisdale (who was appointed during the current term to fill in for resigning Barry Bilyeu.)

Both the cities of Adairville and Russellville have enough running to fill its council seats. Adairville had seven to file including current members Danny Finch, Rebecca Tinch and William Steen. Newcomers are, Derrick Scott, Amy Williams, Johnny Joyce and Tabitha Stephens. Current Adaiville Council members Brent Johnson, Art Violette and Tony Nichols did not file for reelection.

“We never really had a problem filling our seats,” said Adairville City Clerk Sharon Head.

The City of Russellville has all six of its current council members seeking reelection, Jack Whipple, Sandra Kinser, Larry Wilcutt, Pat Bell, Jimmy Davenport and Darlene Gooch, with a newcomer Albert Head.

According to Kentucky Statute, the cities will have 30 days to appoint the missing members, otherwise the responsibility will fall on the governor. Councils will have to vote on one at a time, which could take awhile for Lewisburg if they do not have write-ins.

“It’s a big pain,” said Angela Swinney, Lewisburg City Clerk. “You have to search out people willing to serve and then take the time to put them on.”

Swinney has served as clerk for 21 years. This is nothing new to her.

“I tell people all the time we need people to serve,” said Swinney. “I really don’t know why we have this issue. We have a lot of people concerned with things in the city, but no one seems to want to serve to help fix the issues.”

Perhaps it’s the pay offered. Adairville pays its council members $150 a month, Auburn pays its council members a $100 a month, Lewisburg pays its council members $25 a month and Russellville pays its council members $579.88 month.

By Chris Cooper

To contact Chris Cooper, email or call 270-726-8394.

To contact Chris Cooper, email or call 270-726-8394.

comments powered by Disqus